Follow through content

The 2017 SASA Conference will be hosted by the University of Free State from 27 - 30 November 2017 at Ilanga Estate, Bloemfontein. Details here.

Student Awards

Paper Competition for Young Statisticians winners 2014 (attending ISI in July 2015)

·       George O. Agogo (Wageningen University and Research Centre, Netherlands, Kenyan): A flexible Zero-Augmented Generalized Gamma Mixed Effects Regression Calibration model to Correct for Measurement Error in Episodically Consumed Food

·       Tsiresy Pierre Bernard (UCT, Madagascan): A graphical overview of social inequality in South Africa

·       Aviwe Phelele Gqwaka (NMMU, South African): Efficiency Analysis of Electricity Distribution by South African Municipalities: A Cost Frontier Approach

·       Seitebaleng Makgai (UP, South African): Mixture of exponentiated Pareto model through beta type generator

·       Brenda V. Omachar (UP, Kenyan): The quantile-based generalized logistic distribution

·       Opeoluwa. F. Oyedele (UCT, Nigerian): Biplots for sparse partial least squares

·       Willem D. Schutte (NWU, South African): On the application of a new nonparametric estimator for the off-pulse interval of a light curve using a computer package


Postgraduate Paper Competition winners 2014

1st Prize

Johané Nienkemper-Swanepoel (UFS): Multiple Imputation using Regularised Iterative Multiple Correspondence Analysis + attending and presenting a paper at the 2014 SASA conference)

2nd Prize

Herbert Hove (WITS): Characterisation of the Joint Behaviour of Competing Risks: Application to Accelerated Reliability Testing

3rd Prize

Yegnanew Shiferaw (WITS): Improved Confidence Intervals under the Fay-Herriot Model: Application to Poverty Incidence in Ethiopia (Official Statistics discipline)


SAS Honours Project Winners 2014

·       Cornu Campher (Wits): Point-in-Time – Through-the-Cycle Dual Calibration

·       Lionel Kemba (UKZN): Modeling financial data using the generalized hyperbolic distribution with an application to South African exchange rates

·       Melinda Ross (UCT): Phylogeographic Analysis of the Influenza A Virus in Africa


2014 Third Year Competition Winners

Scholarship: Ms Emma Plumstead (NMMU)

Bursaries: Ms Shannon Sass (NMMU) and Mr Sabelo Mokoena (UKZN)


2014 Second Year Competition Winners

Scholarship:  Ms M Alexander (UP) 

Bursaries: Mr O Mokoena (UL) and  Mr T Mchunu (UKZN)