Follow through content

About Rhodes

Rhodes University is situated in Grahamstown, in the Eastern Cape province of South Africa. It attracts students from all over Southern Africa including Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Namibia, Swaziland, Kenya, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe. A number of students come from Australia, Canada, England, South America, Italy, the USA and Germany. Rhodes is a small university of approximately 7000 students, with many students housed in the 39 residences on campus. Individual tuition in small tutorial groups, facilitated by our relatively small numbers, is a cornerstone of the Rhodesapproach to quality education. As a result of the small intimate campus, all conference venues (lecture theatres, dining halls, residences and function venues) are within easy walking distance of one another (no more than 5 minutes) and you will not need a car once in Grahamstown. 

The University has six faculties with the Humanities Faculty being the largest. Rhodes’ wealth of language resources, both teaching and research related, is one of its main features. The Department of English Language and Linguistics, as well as the departments of English and Drama, and the School of Journalism and Media Studies together comprise the School of English and there is also a School of Languages including isiXhosa, French and Afrikaans/Nederlands. Rhodes University also has several affiliate museums in Grahamstown, including the Albany Museum and the Observatory Museum, the home of one of only two Victorian cameras obscura in the world.

Rhodes University’s vision is to be an outstanding internationally-respected academic institution which proudly affirms its African identity and which is committed to democratic ideals, academic freedom, rigorous scholarship, sound moral values and social responsibility.